The Friendly City

Bellflower was no longer an option. When the landlord offers you a $900 “incentive” to get the hell out of the building within seven days, you sign the contract, take the money and move on. Bellflower was the city of my birth. It’s where I sat in a garage for over 20 years. It’s where I made some friends, smoked my first joint, did my first blast of meth and had some good times too. It’s where I spent too many hours getting loading and hating society. The cancerous vultures that were once pure terror to me are now 50-year-old men still living with their grandmas and patrolling the neighborhood on their kid’s bicycles.  Evenings spent smoking speed and drinking 40’s of Cobra with them are memories.  I roll through the neighborhood once in a while looking for a face or two who were friends and am happy to see they’ve moved on. The hospital where I was born has been bulldozed.